Forum
Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment   Page 1 of 2      1   2   Next
cognoman

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi All, 

I'm new to ML and would appreciate your inputs on using a USB joystick, more specifically, a CTI electronics - Inductive control joystick (M20U9T). Also, can I get ML to work without a DAQ card?
You might be wondering why: I'm setting up a lab for human psychophysics currently and might not need any DAQ cards, but would like to be able to design experiments on ML that can be ported later on to the monkey set up. 

Thanks!
ryklin

Administrator
Reply with quote  #2 
Hi,

Regarding the USB joystick, I don't think it will work. We haven't implemented handlers for one; just a USB mouse/touchscreen. You'll need to use an analog joystick until we implement a USB one, but that's not a top priority for us right now.

I believe you can run ML without a DAQ card, but I'm not sure what will happen with the timing of events. I've never tried it. Presumably, you can port the experiment over to the monkey setup in the future with additional hardware for reward, etc., and the lack of a DAQ card on the human side shouldn't make a difference. Maybe someone else can comment further on this question.

For the psychophysical stimulus, do you plan to display movies?
Wael.Asaad

Administrator
Reply with quote  #3 
The problem with USB devices is their relatively slow communication rate.  It's not uncommon to have 20-50ms lags in data transfer due to the intermittent packet-based nature of USB protocols.  Therefore, support for USB devices is considered relatively low priority because they are inherently limited in light of our ~1ms response time goals.  We appreciate there are situations in which slower devices are probably ok (e.g., psychophysics in the absence of neurophysiology), so there is nevertheless the possibility that someone may wish to implement their own driver for USB joysticks the future.

Jaewon

Reply with quote  #4 
cognoman,