Author   Comment  
alekhyamandali

Reply with quote  #1 
Hi all

I am new to Monkey Logic and Task coding. I am trying to code a task where the conditions file is defined using the user loop method. 

I have 3 stages in the task. In each stage, a set of images are to be shown for n number of trials and a response is recorded for each. After completion of 'n' trials, the second stage begins where I need to display another setup and the number of trials is dependent on the subject response.

My questions are 

1) Do the timing file and condition file communicate in every trial?
2) Can we send the response information from the timing file to the userloop condition file to change the structure?

I would be very thankful if anyone could help me with these questions

Thank you in advance
Alekhya
Jaewon

Administrator
Reply with quote  #2 
1) In each trial, the userloop function is called before the timing script and they can exchange information via the TrialRecord structure. Did you read the example tasks in the 'task\userloop' directory? All information is there. And see the manual for more information about the TrialRecord structure.

ftp://helix.nih.gov/lsn/monkeylogic/ML2_doc/NIMH%20MonkeyLogic%20Manual.pdf#%5B%7B%22num%22%3A159%2C%22gen%22%3A0%7D%2C%7B%22name%22%3A%22XYZ%22%7D%2C70%2C707%2C0%5D

2) Yes, you can do so through the TrialRecord structure. Just register the response type by calling the trialerror function in the timing script and then TrialRecord.TrialErrors will be updated accordingly. Or you can assign something to the TrialRecord.User and read it in the userloop.

ftp://helix.nih.gov/lsn/monkeylogic/ML2_doc/runtimefunctions.html#trialerror

-----

I hoped you would post your original questions. You seem to change your strategy, but I will answer the questions here anyway.