Forum
Register Calendar Latest Topics

Author   Comment  
visionpl

Reply with quote  #1 
Hello, 

I am using the newest version of MonkeyLogic II. 

I am trying to show video stimuli to our monkeys, but having trouble getting the AVI files to play. The stills (BMP files) work perfectly but the AVI files just give me an error even after editing the matlab code to look for AVI rather than BMP. Each video file is about 1.2MB in size and lasts for less than 1 second. This is my first time attempting to show video files, so I am unfamiliar with the process.

If someone could guide me through what I need to do, that would be much appreciated. 

Thank you so much for your time and any assistance you can provide!
Jaewon

Administrator
Reply with quote  #2 
Can you tell me what the error message is and when exactly it occurred?

If you edited your conditions file correctly, the movie should show up in the stimulus list. Then you can test its playback by selecting it in the list and click the "Test" button.

stim_test.png 

AVI is just a container format. You still need codecs to retrieve movie frames and you may not have a right codec. I used to use K-lite codec pack Mega.

https://www.codecguide.com/download_kl.htm

visionpl

Reply with quote  #3 
Thank you so much for getting back so quickly!

I will try codecs. Thank you for the link. 
I can also get back with the exact error message tomorrow (though it might be the codec as you mentioned). 
visionpl

Reply with quote  #4 
The error was "unable to determine file format. (imfinfo, line 113)"

I downloaded the codec and that fixed it for when my condition files are manually created in the .txt files, so thank you so much! Everything works perfectly there.

Unfortunately, the error still occurs when I try to reference a matlab file to generate my conditions. Also, the images and videos do not show in the stimulus box when I reference a matlab file. This also occurs when I try any of the tutorial/ example files.